Cultural Visit – Cardiff

BUTE PARK

IMG_0286[1]
Our first task was to explore some places around Cardiff we took and interest in or somewhere we would like to explore. Before university I had visited Cardiff on a fairy regular basis. I would say I am familiar with the town centre and some other parts of Cardiff but I found it very refreshing to explore some of the quieter parts and really take in the beauty of some of the more rural places.

The first place I decided to visit for this drawing task was Bute Park. This is a really calm and quiet place in the city and made a perfect place to do some primary research. I visited the park on a fairly sunny day so I managed to capture some of the light really well on a river that runs through the park and the reflections from the castle as the water was really still and clear that day. I also found that in certain spots in the park I was able to photograph some of the shadows from the trees on the castle walls which produced an really nice affect that worked well with the castles stonework.

I began my primary research by looking closely at some of the patterns and textures from some tree bark and drew some of the lines and marks that came through on the bark. I feel some of the lines and marks I produced I come use into my work as they would make really nice patterns to develop into embroidery and use in my stitch work.

I then began to have a walk around and collect some of the fallen leaves and taken a handful home to look at and play around with. I used some of the leaves to make some rubbings with using my chalk pastels and some of the textures and veins on the leave came through better than I expected as the leaves were beginning to die once I had taken them home.

LLANDAF CATHEDRAL

The second place I decided to visit was Llandaf cathedral. I took a walk around the outside and the garden of the building.  I tried to take pictures from different angles. I also took some photo’s of spots around the cathedral that had a similar feel and that were maybe linked to the cathedral in some way.

I decided to look at this place as I love the structure and the design of the building but this building will be something I pass everyday to walk to University and I found myself intrigued to take a closer look. I found some of the textures on the walls and the detailing around the entrances very interesting. I am hoping to try and interpret these in stitch and print in the future!

Published by

kayanolan

BA textiles - Cardiff School of Art and Design

Leave a Reply

