Botanical drawings | Cardiff Museum

img_0293-14

We recently visited Cardiff Museum as a group to study and draw from some of the botanical archives. As well as some of the archives provided we also had the chance to look through some old book lovely old books with lots of botanic drawings. I decided to use some of the flowers from there as well. I was really excited to start drawing again, I have always been fairly confident with my drawings but not as much with my shading. So I used this as my opportunity to try out different shading techniques.

IRIS FLOWER, STEM AND PETALS – I sketched in pencil for better detail.

BIRDS OF PARADISE FLOWER – I shaded in the flower very lightly and I am thinking about photocopying and trying in colour.

I really enjoyed my experience at the museum, it was nice to get back into series drawing again and being able to take the time to perfect my drawings and try new techniques. I feel it was also very beneficial for me and my fellow peers. A lot of positive feedback was given out, as well as comments and ideas to improve my work. I found these very useful and I was very happy to hear some of the feedback I was given.

Published by

kayanolan

BA textiles - Cardiff School of Art and Design

Leave a Reply

