Stitch Week 1 | Induction

Today was the first day of stitch and before we could start it was compulsory for Maggie to start with a health and safety induction. Once that and the sewing machine inductions were  could have a go on the sewing machines. I was very excited about this I hadn’t used a sewing machine for a few months now and was excited to dive back into it. To get everyone back into the momentum of sewing (first time for a few) we practiced some simple stitches as well as some decorative ones too.

We learnt about twin needles and hanging the bobbin thread to add texture. The sewing machines have 3 settings with different stitches.
BLUE, PINK  AND GREEN.


We also had an induction to free machine embroidery. I really enjoyed I hadn’t used it much before so it was still quite new to me. We were set an exercise to complete 4 embroidery samples to bring to the workshop for our final week.

I have yet to complete the four samples but I will be sure to post once I have!

Published by

kayanolan

BA textiles - Cardiff School of Art and Design

Leave a Reply

