Study Group | Week 5

S M E L L S L I K E T E E N S P I R I T
Punk Subculture

During today’s study group session, we looked at the punk subculture and focused on how to read from a full extract recognizing relevant quotes to help us with our upcoming essay, this was useful practice for us as throughout the previous lessons we were given individual quotes in our notes to analyse. I found this very helpful.

The reading was an extract from the book: Barnard, M (Ed) (2007) Fashion Theory: A Reader London: Routledge. Chapter 23: Dick Hebdige STYLE, Pages 256 – 266.

We got the chance to analyse the front cover of the sex pistols album “god save the queen” which I found interesting to find how much just an album cover related to the punk subculture. This was different to the method we normally use of analyzing an image.

I used the techniques “Cath’s columns” again today to analyse the image. The theory I used to back its up was some of the quotes I picked out from the extract, highlighting them at the start of the session.

Here is my example of this technique:

Published by

kayanolan

BA textiles - Cardiff School of Art and Design

Leave a Reply

