Mark Making 

Subject – Making Connections

Although a bit messy, I decided to revisit some of my old mark making skills and create some new ones using some of the beautiful gouache paints I purchased for this term. I used different sized paint brushes to create some of these marks, mainly using free and fluid hand movements.

image
img_4924

I mainly wanted to get back in the momentum of creating imagery that was quick and allowed me to use different strokes and a marks when drawing. I produced a variety of different marks that show interesting print styles and I imagine a repeated pattern using some of these would look great as a background when designing prints or croquis in the future.


Above are a couple of some smaller prints examples I created trying out some of these new marking making experiments. I find the left one particularly inserting.


These are some of the gouache paints I used, they turned out to be very useful for this project and I have really enjoyed working with gouache paints this university year. It was refreshing to step out of my comfort zone being water-colour based paints and to try something new.

Published by

kayanolan

BA textiles - Cardiff School of Art and Design

Leave a Reply

