Chelsea Interior Showrooms

Design Centre, Chelsea Harbour.
London Design Week 2017.


On march 16th we finally got the chance to visit the Chelsea Interior showrooms after much talk about the trip throughout the second term and I was absolutely ecstatic. This was the first time ever visiting the showrooms so I was absolutely blown away by the building alone, the layout made it very easy to walk around every floor so I could get the chance to see inside all the showrooms.

I also was very impressed by the modern and edgy design ideas they displayed throughout the building and even got a free coffee – which is always a good start!


I started from the top of the domes working my way down, this way I could visit as many show rooms as possible. I come to the realization that browsing alone was a better way to collect samples and speak to some of the designers one on one so I continued to do so the duration of the day. I felt this was a wise and very professional decision.

I mainly focused on the interior based showrooms and tried my best to collect as many brochures and samples as possible to take home. I was very surprised at how generous some of the designers were and I managed to even get some samples sent home as well as some goody bags, catalogues and even a free cosmetic up bag!


I seen a lot of examples similar to ones we have been experimenting with in class, things like repeated patterns and croquis (All over or tossed, one way layout, free flowing, border, striped). I felt this was important as a designer, seeing all the finished designs opened my eyes to how well these techniques work as a final outcome and inspired me to create more. I also came across a lot of interesting colour ways, something we have been creating with our designs throughout this module.

I found it really interesting to see that a lot of designers were currently using the ‘tropical’ theme, which is the theme for my current project. A lot of the show rooms were decorated this was and I was so inspired to see the way other designers had experimented with colour and print using this theme. Wallpaper and fabrics with this tropical print were a reoccurring theme and I absolutely fell in love with them, I was also a massive fan of the use of plants and greenery. I had this in mind when selecting my theme.


I found it really interesting to see that a lot of designers were currently using the ‘tropical’ theme, which is the theme for my current project. A lot of the show rooms were decorated this was and I was so inspired to see the way other designers had experimented with colour and print using this theme.

See further blog post for more information and photographs during my time spent in the showroom (Harlequin – Show Room Visit)- my chosen company for current project.

Published by

kayanolan

BA textiles - Cardiff School of Art and Design

Leave a Reply

