Dissertation Proposal – Reflection

Constellation Level 5
Dr Ashley Morgan

To begin our dissertation for third year, we were required to select an area of study to propose to give ourselves a a head start when writing our actually essay. It was a decision I feel took a lot of research and thought and I decided for my dissertation I will be looking at the commodity fetishism within the textile industry and consumer culture with the issue that is ‘throw away fashion’. Examining the behavior of the consumers to see why exactly so many are (as I said previously during my proposal) unaware or more worryingly unconcerned about the journey in which their clothing has been through before it has arrived in shops for them to purchase.

I love fashion and as a individual with such drive and passion for clothing I have always given a second thought about the background of the companies I consume my clothing from. I feel this is something that is rarely thought about, especially when items are considered as affordable and good value for money by other consumers.

I feel the initial research played a massive role in deciding on my area of study for this proposal, with this area being my second choice I firstly chose a subject that I thought would be interesting to research and study but after long attempts trying to narrow down the subject to a specific title it was proven to be very difficult. This was partially the reason why I decided to change.

I was influenced to go with my current title from other studies in university. During the start of term too I took part in the study group ‘The significance of Information’. This was a independent project which required us to look at a specific title which was to be decided by ourselves. I looked at sweatshops and pollution within the textile industry, which was a very interesting topic that I thoroughly enjoyed researching throughout my project.
This inspired me to take it further and develop the knowledge I have learnt from and use it when writing my dissertation. I am now very pleased with my final decision and believe I made the right choice by deciding on a title that was personal and interesting to myself.

I have looked a number of journals upon met search which were very useful prior to writing my proposal. I felt it was best to learn as much information as I can around my chosen area in order to get a better understanding of what I was going to be writing about. I looked mainly at peer reviewed journals, books and even articles. I feel the journal section at the library was very relevant to my title and to look at how enticing fashion and clothing is portrayed to the consumers which is why so many are impulsive buying to fulfill their passion. These fashion trends and phases add to the every growing textile waste issue that is every growing whenever an item is considered no longer fashionable.

Published by

kayanolan

BA textiles - Cardiff School of Art and Design

Leave a Reply

